garden work

Yesterday was a hard day. Under threat of rain and thunderstorms, we ignored children’s requests, barely ate meals, and spent the whole day outside in the humidity, all to get the garden weeded and planted. As I worked, I felt angry at the garden. Why were there so many weeds? Why were seeds not sprouting? It was not until the end of the day when I realized that I was remembering last year’s garden and the conditions that made it what is was. Last year, I had small chunks of time to weed and I remembered to water my seedlings when I first put them in the ground.

May 2009 Garden Set Up

Each year the garden changes. Its life depends on what my life has going on. Being busy with two children, less time has been devoted to the soil and seeds and weeds. It also varies due to rain, sun, frosts. All of these issues have kept me from planting a week earlier, kept me from tackling weeds sooner. And errors from last year effected this year. When small tomatoes were rotting and falling last year, I was so pregnant, I let them stay where they fell. I think you can see why!

And I paid the price. This year, I weeded out hundreds of volunteer tomatoes. Plus, our compost added volunteer sunflowers, potatoes, and a few other random plants to the garden. We tilled it in and the seeds loved it!

So when this realization hit, I felt more at peace with my little garden and cannot wait to see how it is different from last year. I can be in love with my garden now… now that the hardest work is over.

3 Comments

  1. Kelly said,

    May 16, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    Diana,

    This is my first time on your blog…I am impressed! And oh so much more impressed with your garden! (Gardening and homeschooling Montessori-style are two of my big motherhood ‘ideals’…neither of which I am pulling off very well at the moment, and really admire that you do!) I hope you and all the ‘boys’ are doing well! Miss you!

    • montessorimama said,

      May 16, 2010 at 7:13 pm

      Thank you Kelly. I am actually not home schooling the boys… E was attending the local Montessori, but I am so dissatisfied, I am contemplating starting one next year since we are fairly certain we will be in Indiana at least 1-2 years more. I do what I can at home to stay true to my training and what I feels ‘fits’ as a parent. I have my days, many, many days, that do not adhere to what is the best parenting approach either! It is why I know I cannot home school. I always look to see what you are up to with the family – always seems so exciting.

  2. Kelly said,

    May 17, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    I guess I’m glad I’m not the only one with those days! They seem especially numerous now being mom of two. I hope all goes well in figuring out a better arrangement for next year. (I am actually moving Will out of his Montessori school…not least in part because they watch TV almost every day! Yikes!)


Leave a Reply

