my sweet treat

While summer is full of great local fruits and veggies, delicious ready-made foods at our farmer’s market, and ice water never tasted so good, I still have a very well-known secret summer drink.

Pina Coladas. Oh. My! This is my all time favorite drink and nothing about it is local. Well, the ice is local. Hm.

This habit has been on going for about four weeks now, maybe longer. It is my evening drink of choice instead of beer or wine. And if the day is particularly awful, either the weather or the boy’s behavior, I get the blender going a little earlier. I make them by the pitcher, saving it by the glassful in the freezer for the next time I get a hankering. My son has seen me whip them up so often he knows to ask for some of the little kid version when he sees the ice in the pitcher. He has his learning tower over, the same as if we were making dinner or dessert together.

So I feel I must share the recipe to anyone who wants to break away from the mixes and try the real deal (unless you are headed somewhere tropical soon, this is as close to real deal as you can get) No high fructose corn syrup, thank you very much. This is just so easy!

‎6 cups ice

6 ounces Coco Lopez Cream of Coconut

8 ounces pineapple juice

6 ounces rum (we used Parrot Bay Coconut Rum, 42 proof)

a few drops aromatic bitters, optional

pineapple wedges, optional

maraschino cherries, optional

Blend well*, pour into glasses, and serve with a festive straw, a wedge of pineapple, a maraschino cherry, and an umbrella toothpick. Enjoy!

Makes four large drinks.

*If you have a little one around who wants a child-version, add all ingredients up to the rum. Blend, serve them some, add rum and bitters, and blend some more.

And, in order to have a few pictures for my post, I just had to make a batch tonight, though without the additional flare. Sorry for the low-quality. The good camera is out on work-duty tonight with the husband.

1 Comment

  1. Noelle Allison said,

    July 24, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    these are truly the best pina coladas ever. and I think they will be the only thing that get me through the remainder of the nasty Louisiana summer.


Leave a Reply

