making it better

When so much has been overwhelming and difficult, I am happy to find there is a lot lately that just has made each day a little better.

  • watching my little baby become a little boy, so suddenly

 

  • seeing that same little boy enjoy being 1 so much and partying until he dropped

    

  • the sweet clothing we scored at Goodwill, including two Hawaiian shirts, one for each boy

  • venting at knit night and finding I am not alone in my troubles, plus getting at least three rows knit (a first in over a month)

 

  • my new birthday sewing machines and table ~~ These make me giddy! I realize one will have to be sold, but to get the table, I had to buy both machines at the antique shop. I had to, I’m telling you. 🙂 Plus, the boys were so patient while I inspected each machine, loaded them, and paid for them. I was so proud. It made the whole day just go wonderfully after that.

3 Comments

  1. Jess said,

    August 23, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    It’s gorgeous! Do you know how old they are?

  2. montessorimama said,

    August 23, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Based on the manuals dates, my guess is 1954 for the top one, 1933 for the bottom one. The 50s one is in better shape and likely the one I will keep. We spent $40 tonight to get the parts to fix the older one and to fix the knee operation cords (this feature makes me giddy!!). With all the accessories and condition, I think (I THINK) I got a decent deal.

  3. Noelle said,

    August 23, 2010 at 11:10 pm

    Those machines are gorgeous! Have fun with them!


Leave a Reply

