wishful thinking

I made this mistake of showing big E how to pull on the wish bone (from a chicken) and make a wish, saying that the wish would come true if you got the top. He and I each took a side and pulled. Anyone else ever do this as a child? We often did, once the bone dried for a few days. Sounds quite repulsive as I type it, but such fun as a child. I guess putting every part to use, huh?

Well, he got the top. And even though I told him not to tell me or it would not come true, I secretly wanted him to tell me so I could make it come true (making me think of the story One Morning In Maine). He could not contain himself and burst out that he wished he could fly. A few minutes he asked why it did not come true. I said maybe in his dreams tonight. He insisted this was not good enough – he wanted people to be able to see him. He then said he was going outside so his wings could grow. My heart sank.

And it got worse. Repeatedly, throughout the day, he seemed let down by his wish not really coming true, to the point of tears. My little boy, who always tells me the difference between fact and fiction, always seeing the silliness of silly stories for what they are, took this wishing business so literally.

We may be pushing a little boy very high on a swing , sewing some wings, or renting an airplane tomorrow, just to soothe a boy and to erase my Mama-guilt.

4 Comments

  1. Amanda said,

    September 12, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    oh no! 😦

    we’ve always done the wishbone thing too.

    this made me think of the story “A frog thing”… have you read it? The frog’s parents told him he could do whatever he set his mind to, and he decided to fly. They said no, we meant you could do any “frog” thing, but he was determined… In the end he saved a baby bird with his good swimming, and the birds rewarded him by taking him for a flight.

    I hope E’s disappointment can be eased one way or another!

    • montessorimama said,

      September 13, 2010 at 7:35 am

      I intend to check this out. Sounds good.

  2. Ghenya said,

    September 12, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    http://www.swingsetsource.com/swings/disc-swings/littletikesdiscswingdisplayer.cfm?TID=LT146-1&source=hayneedleads

    maybe you already a swing? every week when we go to the farm to pick up our csa share the kids fight over the rope swing hanging from this amazing giant old tree so they can “fly”. not the same but maybe big e would enjoy this kind of flying with some wings sewn by mama attached to his shoulders.

    i also looked up aviation in muncie and guess there is a museum? worth a call to see what they might do for a guilty mama and a sad little boy. maybe one the “experts” there could explain to big e how he truly COULD fly someday… just when he is a little bigger. the wish can come true… it’s just a wish that has to be waited on and nurtured. you didn’t do anything wrong mama dear… you just opened the door to more questions and more thinking. this makes you a GOOD mom not a bad one.

    xo, usually guilty for some reason or another in boston

    • montessorimama said,

      September 13, 2010 at 7:37 am

      Oh Ghenya! Thanks… I can see you searching all this for me. 🙂 We do have a swing but that one looks pretty sweet. And E has been to the Dayton Air Force museum, but never tried the local one. But just when you are making me feel better and giving me a good laugh too, he sits at the breakfast table, feeling along his ribs saying he feels a wing growing. *sigh*

      Thank you for your kind words. It really helped.


Leave a Reply

