singing to my dough

Often while trying to make some challah dough or olive oil dough from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day, I find I am easily distracted by children’s cries for help, non-stop chatter, or even my own brain thinking up what is next on the to-do list. Since I like to sing, I started singing to my dough. The most crucial point that I get lost in the recipe is at adding flour. Most recipes have you adding 6 to 7 cups of flour. So many opportunities to get lost in my counting! Seriously. So now, I sing each number over an over, changing the tune for each number. It is a kind of chant and song and keeps me on track. It also stops children’s chatter as they listen, thus freeing a little more brain power for counting.

Leave a Reply

