for my son

Today, for my son, I made the weirdest call I think I have even made. Worse yet, it was left on the answering machine so I could not possibly explain in detail why I was calling.  It went something like this:

“Um, hi Peg, this is Diana, from down the street. Elliott and I found a dead squirrel at the edge of your grass. Uh, we wanted to know if you would like us to come and remove it. Well, I mean, Elliott is interested so we could do it for you, if you wanted. Well, give us a call. Thanks.”

I am sure you can guess why Elliott was interested. He wanted to see a dead animal up close, one that Mama clearly said we could not keep in a specimen jar! But I like to imagine what my elderly neighbor Peg might think. She is not our immediate neighbor, we know her only from a few neighborhood gatherings, and I never call her for anything. Yet here we are asking to come scrape up a dead squirrel. Maybe it is just me, but it seemed like an odd call.

When Peg did call back, I joked about the weird message. She did admit it was likely the weirdest one she has gotten.

And while the internet has oodles of pictures of dead, squished squirrels, here is cute baby one, to take your mind off the task we faced tonight, shovel and bucket in hand, while pushing a half-naked Oliver in a stroller. The woman walking her dog just had to ask what we were up to. Can I blame her?

1 Comment

  1. jojoebi said,

    October 11, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    lol. I remember my mom finding my little brother, about 4 at the time with a dead mole on the dining room table, a bowl of water, a knife and a bag of cotton wool. he said he was going to stuff it so it could ‘live’ in the case with the stuffed badger that mmy dad had – ewww. Mom wasn’t impressed!


Leave a Reply

