unexpected benefits

So I know exercise is good for me, I should have stuck with it over the years, and blah, blah, blah. It turns out I should have listened way back when. In just over two months, I have seen some unexpected results.

Back in October when I blogged about my exercise woes, I was just expecting to drop a few pounds for motivation over the next few months. During these past two months though, I could tell I had more muscle tone, more energy, and exercise had helped curb my desire to munch on sweets all the time. But the weight loss, my one big goal, had me discouraged. So far I have not lost a single pound and I still have a belly problem.

But recently I got encouraging news from the times I donated blood. The place that I donate, Indiana Blood Center, allows you to track your total cholesterol from your recent donations. Since high cholesterol runs in my family and my last test some 8 to 10 years ago yielded less than great results, I was eager to see the results. I just happened to have donated on September 11th and November 23rd, with exercise becoming a 3 times per week routine by the end of September. I went from 223 to 158! Well, that is thrilling enough for me to feel motivated and just cross my fingers that someday soon a few pounds will just give up and go away.

2 Comments

  1. December 1, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    I wanted to congratulate you on your LOWER NUMBERS! I’m a dietitian. I love hearing stories from people who’ve had success with incorporating healthy lifestyle change into their life! I hope to inspire. 158, pretty number! :-).

  2. December 7, 2010 at 10:21 am

    That’s awesome, Diana! I just goes to show the benefits of exercise are so often internalized and hard to see from a trying-to-fit-the-favorite-jeans sort of standard! (Although fitting into the favorite jeans again is a nice perk!)


Leave a Reply

