little helper

Lately, quite sadly I must say, tender feelings for Elliott have been far and few between due to his monstrous behavior. But seeing spoons in the fork drawer made me think fondly of my little sweety. Here is how I got spoons in the fork drawer.

Earlier tonight, ever tired of asking him to pick up before moving on to the next thing and sensing I would get the same lack of energy turned tantrumy nastiness as usual. And being fed up with load after load of my work, I offered a switch. I would pick up his toys (which were really quite few) and he would unload the dishes. He happily agreed. In a few minutes I finished and asked him what I should do now. I assumed he would say help him, but he happily replied “Go work at your desk or something.” What can I say to that but ‘Okay!’

He used his learning tower to climb to put pots away. He stacked things on the counter he was too short to put away. And he never asked for my help. I only finally intervened when the stack of items became a bit too precarious. Even then, I only did the counter dishes, not what was left in the dishwasher. Once finished, he was happy. I was happy. A crisis averted!

So tonight while I unloaded yet another load of dishes, grumpy and worn out, seeing that he had to climb up to the drawers and find the place for spoons made this little mistake so very sweet. He was working so hard tonight to do it all by himself.

******************************************************

I originally tried to post this last night but our internet was on the fritz.

Today, Elliott and I changed jobs again. I picked up his room and he made his school lunch. He did a great job, even selecting items from nearly all the food groups. He felt very proud that he cut his own pear (which I came to supervise), packed it all up, and cleaned up.

3 Comments

  1. December 6, 2010 at 11:52 am

    What a clever way to approach this. I’m going to link this post and your blog to mine, http://millicentmouse.wordpress.com

  2. Michelle said,

    December 6, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Great idea, Di! Love it. And Mr. Elliott is a sweet guy, underneath it all. He must be struggling with how to be his own little man. Can’t wait to see him in a few weeks. Miss you guys. Keep up the job switching – sounds like you’re getting the long end of that stick! :o)

  3. Nichole said,

    December 6, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Sweet…great idea to switch up the jobs. Love it!


Leave a Reply

